Latest News

Internationally renowned showrunner Shane Brennan elected Australian Writers’ Guild President

Shane Brennan has been elected President by the Australian Writers’ Guild’s National Executive Committee, and will assume the office effective immediately.


Aussie screenwriter Tony McNamara picks up Oscar Best Screenplay nomination

The Australian Writers' Guild congratulates long-standing AWG member Tony McNamara on his Best Original Screenplay Academy Award nomination yesterday for surprise box-office smash, The Favourite.


Victorian Screenwriter Meegan May wins coveted RMIT’s McCraith House Writer’s Residency

The Australian Writers’ Guild in partnership with RMIT and Film Victoria are delighted to announce that screenwriter Meegan May and her project The Analyst have been selected as the winner of the two-week McCraith House residency and mentorship opportunity.


Vale Eleanor Witcombe

Playwright, Screenwriter, Life Member of the AWG. Tributes by Angela Wales Kirgo and Gillian Armstrong.


AWGACS, AWG and Screenrights agree settlement of dispute

The Australian Writers’ Guild Authorship Collecting Society (AWGACS), Australian Writers’ Guild and Screenrights have settled their Federal Court dispute


© Australian Writers' Guild 2019. All Rights Reserved.
ACN: 002 563 500

Privacy Policy

Level 4, 70 Pitt St, Sydney, NSW 2000
t: 02 9319 0339
f: 02 9223 8933

Red Tally Studios