Latest News

Dystopic thriller Kin wins top Australian sci-fi screenwriting award

Filmmaker Thomas Atkin has won the Australian Writers’ Guild’s John Hinde Award for Excellence in Science-Fiction Writing, taking home the top prize with a dystopian thriller that grapples with themes of power and identity.


Vale Philip Dalkin

Australia has lost one of its most successful and prolific screenwriters with the passing last week of Philip Dalkin.


NZ Screen Industry Workers Bill

The Australian Writers’ Guild and AWGACS wish the best of luck to New Zealand AWGACS Members and the New Zealand Writers Guild, who will witness the progression of the Screen Industry Workers Bill in its Second Reading in New Zealand Parliament today, Thursday, 11 August 2022.


National Cultural Policy - Have Your Say

The Australian Writers' Guild is preparing its submission to the federal government regarding the development of a new national cultural policy. The policy is intended to be a comprehensive roadmap to guide the skills and resources required to transform and safeguard a diverse, vibrant and sustainable Australian arts sector now and into the future.


$60,000 Shane & Cathryn Brennan Prize for Playwriting Winners Announced

Thirteen new Australian plays from a mix of emerging and established writers have been celebrated today with the announcement of the $60,000 Shane & Cathryn Brennan Prize for Playwriting.


© Australian Writers' Guild 2022. All Rights Reserved.
ACN: 002 563 500

Privacy Policy

Level 4, 70 Pitt St, Sydney, NSW 2000
t: 02 9319 0339

Red Tally Studios


The Australian Writers’ Guild acknowledges and pays respect to the past, present and future traditional custodians and Elders of this nation and the continuation of cultural, spiritual and educational practices of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples should be aware that this website contains images or names of people who have passed away.